DANA – Nigerian Indigenous Pilot Development Scheme.

DANA – Nigerian Indigenous Pilot Development Scheme.

To help sure-up the professional technical manpower required to accelerate air transport development in Nigeria, Dana Air, a Nigerian brand regional carrier has embarked on recruitment and training programme for pilots. This programme which is designed to increase quality local content in piloting of Nigerian flights has seen many Nigerian Pilots training in South Africa, Johannesburg, and Madrid – Spain.

The recent press release by Mr Obi Mbanuzu, The Accountable Manager of Dana Air, indicates that ‘‘Dana Air is committed to the strategic growth and development of the Nigerian aviation industry. As at 2015, more than 500 Nigerian pilots were unemployed but with our recruitment and frequent training both locally and abroad since 2015, we have been able to reduce the number, by engaging these pilots and paying for their training in South Africa and Spain.”

A Special Services Unit which consists of well-trained personnel (males and females) have been introduced to, among other functions, attend to passengers with special needs, urgent complaints, update passengers on current promos and benefits of Dana Miles at the airports in Lagos, Abuja, Port Harcourt, Uyo and Owerri.

“We will continue to encourage professionalism in the industry and support our Nigerian Pilots to ensure constant growth and development in the industry.’’

Dana airline, which is the Nigerian Aviation Most Prestigious Award winner and also the winner of best air hostess of the year award, has continued the lead in aviation development promotion in Nigeria and the west African region as it was recently quoted as an airline sponsor of the famous Airport Business Summit Africa – a development advocacy programme for the airport subsector in Africa.

If you like the effort that Dana is putting on the aviation development, you can nominate them for the NIGAV award here.

The NIGAV 7th Annual Nigerian Aviation Awards and ministerial gala dinner comes up on December 15, 2017. You can nominate possible awardees and read more here: nominate/continue reading.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s